Anoka County Fire Investigation Team (ACFIT)

Coon Rapids Fire Department is a founding member of the Anoka County Fire Investigation Team (ACFIT). The team consists of approximately 30 members from Anoka County fire and police agencies as well as a member from the State Fire Marshal’s Office, the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and Firearms (ATF), and Anoka County Attorney’s office. The team was assembled to build collaboration amongst fire, law enforcement, and others to better determine the origin and cause of fire and explosion scenes within Anoka County.

The primary goal of the team is assist local fire departments in determining the origin and cause of fires and/or explosions within their jurisdictions.

Today the ACFIT has become a model for other county teams such as Hennepin, Washington, Dakota, Sherburne, Albert Lea, and Ramsey. The team concept has complete support from the County Sheriff, County Attorney, Medical Examiner’s Office and local officials.